DIY Wrapping Paper

Yesterday was a friend’s birthday and I wanted to make it a little more special by creating some personalised wrapping paper for their birthday gift. Now, the first thing you need to know is that Crows feature heavily in this particular friend’s world (see Roving Crows to get an idea how much) and so I wanted to bring that theme into the mix.

Step 1 was to produce the ‘source image’ – the basis for the design and after a couple of attempts I had what I thought would be a good image.

IMG_5440

Body shape and wing design prototypes.

IMG_5441

The final image, pencil on A4 printer paper. Next step was to scan the picture and create an image file that could be used to create the design.

Scan

With the image digitised I loaded it up into SupremePaint Lite, a handy graphics app I downloaded from the Apple Store, and set to creating my design. I did consider having different sizes of crow and also reversing and rotating some of them, but in the end simplicity won the day and my final design was created and printed.

IMG_5442

I printed out a handful of pages and sellotaped some together to create bigger sheets to wrap the bottles of wine and then cut out some spare crows to create the gift tags.

IMG_5443

And here’s the finished articles ready for the birthday party.

2016-04-24 12.13.15

If you’d like a copy of the wrapping paper then you can download an A4 sized image file here, just print it out to create the wrapping paper. If you enjoyed the article and love the paper then please consider sending me 99p in thanks here. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

